The first Thanksgiving

16 12 2009

No, not the one with Indians and Pilgrims on Plymouth Plantation in 1621, but our first Thanksgiving dinner right here in Gdynia, November 26th, 2009.

To be honest, I did not plan on celebrating this most American of holidays, because I believe that “when in Rome…” and the Poles already have quite a few occasions to party, anyway.  But as it tuned out (right after one especially “spirited” dinner en familia), I seem to have offered to host a Thanksgiving feast at our place!

Don’t get me wrong – I love entertaining.  But being unfamiliar with Polish terms for most Thanksgiving ingredients (yams? pumpkins? cranberries?) and given the size of my convection oven, I knew it would be a challenge.  And indeed it was. We could not find an indyk (turkey) small enough to fit into the oven unless I sat on it to squash it (an idea that elicited a warning from my sister in Florida:  make sure you don’t sit on a wish bone!).  The locally grown borówki (cranberries) were bitter and hard and did not want to pop during cooking.  And the local rynek (farmer’s market) was all out of pataty (yams).

But this is where my Poles-can-do attitude came into play –  I built a turkey!  Yes, you read correctly; I purchased a large turkey breast, a couple of thighs and wings,  marinated it all overnight and roasted it in a bag.  The results were f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c and the family loved it as well as the rest of the (improvised and polish-fied) dishes.

And isn’t that really what’s it all about?  The family?

Actions

Information

One response

16 12 2009
David

Impressive! You created a turkey! WOW!

Leave a Reply

